There are four levels of measurement:
Nominal -
Ordinal -
Interval -
Ratio -

Cardinal Numbers

The interval scales and ratio scales are sometime classified together and called the Cardinal Scale
Also known as counting numbers because they indicate how many / size

1,2,3,4 50. 100

These can be used for ordering and ranking

Cardinal numbers can be divided into two groups:

  • Discrete - These are units where each value is clearly separated from its neighbour (eg 3 people)

  • Continous - These can be divided up again and again (eg 2 inches)

Examples - What type of measurement are these:

The salaries of people aged 30
The exam scores for a particular course
Number of exams passed
IQ scores
The size of famalies in the UK

© 2023 Better Solutions Limited. All Rights Reserved. © 2023 Better Solutions Limited TopPrevNext